Early Carbon Lemond: A diamond in the rough

Lemond road bikes are pretty uncommon in Europe and the other day I walked past a particularly uncommon one.

It was casually leant against a wall, clearly converted to humdrum urban commuting usage, probably unnoticed by the overwhelming majority of passers by. But not me.

I’ve never seen one like this before, and until now I thought the earliest Lemond carbon frames were the aluminium lugged TVT frames.

This one, made by Craig Calfee in the early 90s is WAY ahead of its time. “Lugs” of sorts fashioned from different grades of carbon fibre, clearly visible due to the naked finish.

And those Lemond titanium dropouts, just lovely.

A jolly nice bike, sporting full dura ace groupset. I’d love to ride it as nature intended, up and down a mountain and rolling hills!

So, what do you think?