How to shoot bikes

While taking some pictures of a couple of bikes I want to sell, I got to thinking: How do you get the best possible photo of a bicycle?

You’ve all seen them, the photos of that amazing bicycle that just seem super-real. But it’s just a bicycle, right? How do they make it look so good?

Well, it’s not voodoo. There’s a few articles on this topic, such as this one

No major secret. Choose a good backdrop. No visual distractions. Clean bike! Pedal position (I didn’t think of that). Angle. That’s about it!

Here’s my result. This was not taken with an SLR, just my iPhone and a couple of in-phone edits.

I think it looks pretty sweet!

2 thoughts on “How to shoot bikes

So, what do you think?

